Who We Are

  Overview


The Organic Exporters Association of New Zealand was established in 1992 and serves over 140 New Zealand organic exporters. Our members include growers, shippers, processors, certifiers, farmers’ associations, distributors, importers, exporters, consultants, retailers and others.  

Organic exports are valued at over $450 million of which $137 million is exported with official assurance from MPI.  The remaining value are to markets where no organic bilateral arrangements currently exist.  We are a solely member funded trade association. We assist with fast and easy market access for certified organic food & beverage from New Zealand. Where no organic bilateral arrangements exist we work with affiliates to provide the fastest, easiest and most economic route to market. We work closely together with the Ministry for Primary Industries to agree the prioritisation of work undertaken for the organic export sector.  We are the representative voice for organic exporters to government officials and organic foreign buyer representatives.  We further encourage and support organic export growth by providing regular market reports and networking opportunities to organic exporters.

Organic Exporters New Zealand has an Executive Board which comprise of elected members representing most organic exporting sectors. The Executive Board also has permanently co-opted members from the Ministry for Primary Industries and the Crown Agency, New Zealand Trade & Enterprise. This allows key government agencies to be part of our decision making process and gives Organic Exporters New Zealand instant knowledge of the best ways forward. Organic Exporters New Zealand also engages with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade as necessary. Organic Exporters New Zealand is funded 100% via membership. The Organic Exporters Association of New Zealand directly funded the primary establishment of both the EU and US organic market access programmes that all organic exporters enjoy today. 

Executive Committee members represent a cross-section of the New Zealand organic exporters sector and have knowledge of agriculture and trade matters. Executive Committee members are re-confirmed each year and serve without compensation for time, travel or expenses. The Executive Committee generally meets face to face at the MPI Technical & International Trade Access in Wellington twice a year and via teleconference calls at other times through the year.

 

 

 

 

Executive Team

Rick Carmont, Organic Exporters Executive Director
021 68 1901
rick.carmont@organictradenz.com

Alice Moore, Zespri International / Chair
Mob: +64 21 626 634

email alice.moore@zespri.com  

Matt Gallagher,  AsureQuality 

021 838 280

matt.gallagher@asurequality.com

Andrew Henderson, Fonterra Ingredients // Organic Exporter 
021 914 415
Email: andrew.henderson@fonterra.com

Donald Nordeng, BioGro NZ  - Deputy Chairman 

Phone 04 801-0742

Email: donald.nordeng@biogro.co.nz  

 

Chris Morrison - Karma Drinks
027 548 1293

chris@karmadrinks.co.nz

 

 

 

 

 

Fabian Yukich - New Zealand Wines 
Auckland

021 316 296

FabianY@Villamaria.co.nz

Andrea Armitage, Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI)

Regulation and Assurance Branch
TSB House, 149 Lambton Quay
PO Box 2526 Wellington 6140
022 094 2647

andrea.armitage@mpi.govt.nz

Danielle Adsett - NZ Apples & Pears
027 305 0004
danielle@applesandpears.nz

Patrick Geals, New Zealand Trade & Enterprise
021 612 129

email patrick.geals@nzte.govt.nz

Corrie den Haring, Tech Foods
021 724 107

email corrie.denharing@techfoods.co.nz

Heidi Stiefel - Bostock NZ
021 336 791

heidis@bostock.nz

www.bostock.nz